Standards & schemes

Leaping Bunny

Cruelty Free International (with CCIC in North America)

Certification
Issuer / operator
Cruelty Free International (with CCIC in North America)
Geography
Global
Sectors
Cosmetics, personal care, household products
Scope unit
Company
Current edition
Not publicly disclosed — Corporate Standard of Compassion for Animals, rolling revisions, no public version number
Edition status
Published
Next edition review
Not yet reviewed. Help review this fact
Access to standard text
Free
Certified unit
Not yet reviewed. Help review this fact
Assurance route
Not yet reviewed. Help review this fact
Chain-of-custody model
None
On-product label
Yes
Grievance / complaints
Not yet reviewed. Help review this fact
ISEAL status
Not yet reviewed. Help review this fact

In brief

What this profile covers

Leaping Bunny is the cruelty-free certification of Cruelty Free International (with the Coalition for Consumer Information on Cosmetics in North America). It certifies that neither a company nor its suppliers conduct, commission or are party to animal testing, for cosmetics, personal-care and household products. Unlike many cruelty-free logos based on self-declaration, Leaping Bunny requires a fixed cut-off date policy, ongoing supplier monitoring, and recommitment with independent audits — the Corporate Standard of Compassion for Animals is maintained on a rolling basis and is not published as a versioned public document. The certified company list is public, which makes verification straightforward for consumers and regulators. Because "cruelty-free" and "not tested on animals" are otherwise unregulated claims in most jurisdictions, the certification's fixed cut-off date and supply-chain monitoring are what give the claim weight. Certification covers the approved company and product scope only; it does not by itself substantiate vegan, natural or safety claims.

Conditional relationships

Claims it may support

A relationship does not mean that the standard proves or validates every use of a claim.

Cruelty-freeMay support subject to conditions · Requires a current valid certificate within the scheme's scope; certification supports but does not by itself prove the claim — wording must reflect certified scope and assurance level.
Evidence and conditions
Edition reviewed
Not publicly disclosed — Corporate Standard of Compassion for Animals, rolling revisions, no public version number
Covered scope
Company / brand
Market
Global
Evidence normally needed
Current certificate from an accredited/approved certification body, valid for the claimed product, site or scope
Assurance
Fixed cut-off date policy, supplier declarations and independent audits of the supplier monitoring system; annual recommitment
Chain of custody
Not applicable — the scheme defines no chain-of-custody model
Relationship source ↗

Recognition & legal context

Laws referencing it

No reviewed law references are published.

Provenance5 profile updates
Profile update 5
Imported source-linked claim and dictionary relationship reviews. Public profile remains Founding edition · public beta.
Profile update 4
Added source-linked instrument, organisation and conformity classifications. Public profile remains Founding edition · public beta.
Profile update 3
Applied the owner/editor-approved Review 01 source and edition corrections. Public profile remains Founding edition · public beta.
Profile update 2
Initial profile published after recorded site-owner/editor review of the complete standards batch.
Profile update 1
Initial private editorial draft imported from the reviewed standards handover.

Have evidence, context or a correction?

Suggest a correction